Representing Finland

Being a Fulbright grantee is not just being an exchange teacher. It also means you represent Finland and the Fulbright programs everyday and everywhere you go. In addition to studying and school visits there are also other events you can attend.

The first occasions for us to represent Finland were of course the welcoming dinners that were arranged in our honor. At first it felt strange, you all Finns know, small talk! But believe it or not it gets easier. At some point I remembered my time as the chair of the English teacher association in Finland. It’s 15 years ago, but it was quite similar to this. Meeting new people all the time and talking with them about just about anything.

welcome dinner with dean and Chris
Kimmo and I talking with Adina, Dean Terry C. Mason and Chris Kupersmith my host teacher.

 

We also have had many possibilities to meet students. The inspire students interviewed us and invited us to a nice dinner party where we could also meet their parents. “My student” is Cassie, a freshman education student, studying to become a teacher. It has been great to get to know her and also meet her family.

21992847_10156793255547468_261168826158773558_o

In addition to all the eating, we have also represented Finland in a bit more official way. At the school of education we (me, Emilia and Julci) had a Moomin table. We had books, puzzles and quizzes about the Moomins. We also told people about Finland and Fulbright Finland’s grant opportunities to Finland. I have also given a talk about Finnish education and there is still Kimmo’s talk coming. So, when you are a Fulbrighter travelling with your spouse, you can also always volunteer your spouse to do nice things for Finland.

 

I have also met various people from different fields who are interested in Finland. I’ve given advice who to contact and I’ve also sent some e-mails myself to connect people. I’m really looking forward to spring when some of the people I’ve met are coming to Finland to do research. And, of course, there are the U.S. Fulbrighters who are coming to Helsinki and Jyväskylä in January. I can’t wait to show them our schools, not just talk about them.

2017-08-09 07.57.57